2nd All grain

July 17, 2006 at 12:09 am Leave a comment

Anissa (daughter) and my wife decided I had hinted about needing a bag of grain long enough and so today presented me with a one-day-early father’s day gift of 50 pounds of american 2-row malt. One thing led to another at that point, and at 6:0 pm I started my second ever AG batch.

The target style is an American Pale Ale. I used 10 pounds of 2-row pale malt, and one pound of CaraPils. My hop schedule was 1.0 oz Chinook (11% aa) for 30 minutes, 1.0 Cascade (6%) for 20 minutes, and .5 ounces Cascade for 15 minutes.

I redrilled my mash tun manifold this am, and what a difference! Collected 8 gallons of wort in less thn 15 minutes! Had a bit too much wort for that matter.

Ran out of propane , it rained. Ahh, the trials & tribulations!

More later!

Entry filed under: Homebrew Stuff & Notes.

First all grain!!!!!!!! Not the best of brew days!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Calendar

July 2006
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Nov »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Most Recent Posts


